Gray keeps the Firebird Trilogy interesting from the very first page to the last

Review: Firebird Trilogy by Claudia Gray ★★★★★

“Every form of art is another way of seeing the world. Another perspective, another window. And science –that’s the most spectacular window of all. You can see the entire universe from there.”

If you are into time travel and believe in a multiverse, this are absolutely the books for you. I don't really know what to say about this series other than I absolutely loved it. Claudia Gray gets your attention from the beginning and never lets you go.

The story is about a young girl named Marguerite Caine. Her parents are scientists and their most astonishing invention is called the Firebird. It is a device that allows users to jump into multiple universes. Their research is groundbreaking and is about to revolutionize science, but then Marguerite's father is murdered. The killer—her parent's enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him. Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes.

All three of these books are full of plot twists. One minute you think know what's going on and then the next you're surprised to find out the exact opposite. These characters are so well written. You can see them change enormously throughout the series. They have so much depth to them and throughout the story they learn how to live with their dark side. Another thing that's so great about this series is that the story never gets boring. Gray pulls you in every few chapters, she makes sure you want to keep reading.

Claudia Gray is such an impressive writer. All the characters in the Firebird Trilogy are the same, but so different. All the Marguerites, Pauls, Theos in all the different universes are so similar yet so unique. And this is what makes Gray an exceptional writer. Her ability to distinguish all these characters is phenomenal. Everytime I read about another Paul or Theo I felt like I was reading about a completely different character.

Another magnificent thing about the Firebird Trilogy is the worldbuilding. Marguerite visits multiple universes and finds herself in all different kinds of worlds. The way these worlds are described in the books makes you feel like you're really there.

I still think about these characters once in while and this months after reading the series. The impact that these books had on me is indescribable. I truly recommend the Firebird Trilogy by Claudia Gray. The characters are well written and the worlds are beautifully built. This is a series I will never forget. I might just reread it in the future.

The Firebrid Trilogy exists out of three books:

  1. A Thousand Pieces of You (#1)

  2. First Impressions: A Firebird Ficlet (#1.1)

  3. Ten Thousand Skies Above You (#2)

  4. A Million Worlds with You (#3)

#review #bookreview #claudiagray #firebird #firebirdseries #firebirdtrilogy #margueritecaine #paulmarkov #theobeck #multiverse #books #belgianbookreviewer #bookreviewer #athousandpiecesofyou #tenthousandskiesaboveyou #amillionworldswithyou

  • goodreads-icon

©2020 by heavenlybookish.